Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: NEW HERE! 71 Porsche 914 24k
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
amcmackin1
Hey guys I am new to the form, but i purchased a 914 about a month back. Its a clean Porsche with 24k miles on it, and it shows. But it has absolutely no power when it comes to hills, first gear or just period. barely makes it out of my driveway in reverse and it is not that steep. It has the 1.7L and i would like to get some more power out of it but not change it from original. Thanks to my county i don't have to smog it so that's not a problem but it was smogged by the original owner. Anyways its registered as a classic vehicle and only has one dent! ar15.gif anyways Let me know what you think and If any one can help with the lack of power i would greatly appreciate it
SirAndy
QUOTE(amcmackin1 @ Dec 2 2013, 08:56 PM) *
... no power when it comes to hills, first gear or just period. barely makes it out of my driveway in reverse and it is not that steep. It has the 1.7L and i would like to get some more power out of it but not change it from original.

My guess would be that as soon as you fix what is wrong with it you'll have plenty of fun with your 1.7L ...
shades.gif

PS: welcome.png
Mike Bellis
welcome.png
euro911
Until you know what you have, you may be wasting time and $ to get it running well.

First thing, run a compression check and a leak-down test, then post the results here.

If the #s don't look good, do a stone-cold valve adjustment and run the tests again.

If OK, preform a tune up - plugs, points, ignition timing and fuel adjustments (carbs).

Do you have FI or carbs?

welcome.png

rick 918-S
QUOTE(euro911 @ Dec 2 2013, 11:31 PM) *

Until you know what you have, you may be wasting time and $ to get it running well.

First thing, run a compression check and a leak-down test, then post the results here.

If the #s don't look good, do a stone-cold valve adjustment and run the tests again.