Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: mystery wire
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
florida 914
Anybody know what this wire is and where it is supposed to plug in? It looks like a ground wire (it's brown); it has a male connection, and was under the air filter housing. This is a car that has been sitting for a long time -- a 1971 1.7 FI.

Thanks!
Click to view attachment
914itis
That looks like the wire for the head temp. The only wire I can think of with a male connector in that area.
florida 914
QUOTE(914itis @ Dec 25 2013, 08:52 PM) *

That looks like the wire for the head temp. The only wire I can think of with a male connector in that area.

I'm pretty new at this: what does that look like?
r_towle
QUOTE(florida 914 @ Dec 25 2013, 08:13 PM) *

QUOTE(914itis @ Dec 25 2013, 08:52 PM) *

I'm pretty new at this: what does that look like?

Cylinder head temp sensor is to the left rear of the number 3 cylinder spark plug, which is passenger side rear plug.
There should be a wire coming out of the head tin.

That may also be for the ambient air temp sensor on the passenger side underneath the air cleaner bracket, and underneath the intake runner tubes.

Rich
euro911
Trace it out and see where the other end goes.

If it's truly brown and under the plenum area, it may be a ground that became disconnected from the grounding tab on the case confused24.gif
914itis
QUOTE(euro911 @ Dec 25 2013, 09:11 PM) *

Trace it out and see where the other end goes.

If it's truly brown and under the plenum area, it may be a ground that became disconnected from the grounding tab on the case confused24.gif

But those are female and his connector looks original.
JeffBowlsby
If its brown and comes out of the ignition harness its the ground for the heater fan, with a male/female piggyback terminal.
florida 914