Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Power Output
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
DrifterJay
I am a total newb...Just learning im 17 ok..Hey, im curious as to what the possible power output of the original 1.7....(Carbureted and Fuel Injected) Anyone ever tried and built up a monster of these...or is it usually just thrown away for a bigger motor? Cause if I could get at least 110-120hp I would be stoked...but im not sure on that probability..
-Jared lol2.gif
Bleyseng
Ray Greenwood has a 1.7L that dyno's about 102hp. Its still got the Djet but different a cam (WebCam), and FI mods to tune it.
I am guess you can get about 95-100hp with carbs and a higher lift cam.
Geoff
DrifterJay
Thanx..do you think its worth it?
Jared
Bleyseng
Its easier to buy a good used 2.0L and install that plus having a 2.0L in the engine bay makes your car worth more.
It cost the same to rebuild a 1.7l (try and find the domed pistons!) as a 2.0L. The 2.0l heads are the key to the hp/torque increase. Why spend $3k+ to rebuild a 1.7L? Unless you race and are class restricted.

Geoff
DrifterJay
Well..This is what im doing, I finish High School in two weeks and leave for basic training in 4.. Basically in 6 months im stationed in Barstow California..Hell..(at least I dont have to worry about rust for 4 years..) This car is to be my daily driver. Its a 72 914 with a 1.7 in it now. My starting budget will be around 10 thousand..What do you suggest I do? I want to autocross on the weekends..but the motor needs to last for 40,000 miles hopefully. A lot to swallow..I would like to know what you would do..I want to do one thing at a time. Jared smile.gif
seanery
You have 10g's to spend on it now?
There is a 2.0 on ebay right now
2.0 engine

Put a 19mm m/c on, new brake pads, James Adams' Rennshifter, new tires, 2.0 fuchs, new adjustable shocks and springs, Mueller's roller bearings....That's a good start.
DrifterJay