Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rust damage hard to fix?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Dredwin
I haven't seen this car in person but the body has some rust. The "hell hole" has been repaired. But I haven't done body work before. I'm a decent mechanic but have never done body work. (although I have drywalled the basement).

Looking over the forum, I know there are other areas to look for rust, but how difficult is this to repair?

Thanks for any help you can give
partwerks
I have a small rust spot on the passenger side also. The only rust I have on mine, but will just have a body shop do it.
Ferg
Based just on those two pics, if u can't weld find another car
Mike Bellis
I've seen better cars that were free... sad.gif
KELTY360
It's an iceberg.
ConeDodger
Keep looking... sad.gif
Dredwin
QUOTE(KELTY360 @ Feb 10 2014, 09:36 PM) *

It's an iceberg.

Or is this the Titanic? It was listed as $2500 but they completely rebuilt the engine. I have my eye on another car. Thanks for the advice (although I am interested in learning to weld, but don't want to practice on the body.
somd914
Looks like you have rust at the lower end of the door jamb also, I would suspect the other sail panel is bad also, and there's likely a whole lot of rust hiding elsewhere.

So if it your not afraid of stuff like this, then go for it, but otherwise plenty of decent cars to be had if you look around for a while.

Click to view attachment
CptTripps
Yeah...let someone else "save" that one.
Chris H.
Yep this is the clincher right here...

Click to view attachment

It's not really "natural" for rust to form there. It came from the inside out. See how its lumpy under the vinyl? That's more rust bubbles. Some people can fix that easily but it can be very frustrating for a first-time build. You can expect it to be much worse under there.
KELTY360
QUOTE(Dredwin @ Feb 10 2014, 10:23 PM) *

It's an iceberg.