Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Weber DCNF vs IDF
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Alapone
Hello all,

I am relatively new to the world of the 914. I have been wanting to convert my (mostly stock) 1975 914 2.0l from FI to carbs since I bought it about a year and a half ago. I recently purchased, via an obscure but cheap ebay add, a pair of what turned out to be Weber DCNF 40mm carburetors and manifolds. I was under the impression they were IDFs (rookie move I know)...

I have done a little research on these carbs for type IV application and have read widely varied opinions on the matter ranging from "throw them away immediately" to "could be a nice setup". I have a set of manifolds that look as if they will match with the engine and if they do I will likely give these DCNFs a shot. I am told these DCNFs were primarily used on alfa, ferrari, fiat and vw type I and III engines for a variety of reasons and are not the ideal carb for the type IV. Having these DCNFs in hand though makes me think twice about starting from scratch looking for some IDF 40s or 44s. My main question is, can I run these DCNFs with my 2.0l without problem in proper tune? If these are an ok carb for the type IV engine does anyone know where I can get a set of manifolds?

Please excuse the rambling and/or inconsistent information gathered by a 914 newb. Any help with this matter would be much appreciated.

-Andrew
Elliot Cannon
I have weber 44idf's on my car and once I got them adjusted have been happy with them. I think you will find that the FI cam in your engine will not be compatible with carbs. Others more expert than I might also respond. smile.gif popcorn[1].gif
DBCooper