Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: electrical gremlins
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
john77
I'm trying to fix a list of electrical faults on my car. I'm a novice when it comes to this stuff so I thought I'd ask here first in case some of these things are connected. Thanks in advance for any advice.

1. My left parking lights and right taillight come on and stay on the entire time the ignition is switched on.

2. Right parking lights keep blowing fuse.

3. Switching to highbeams turns the lights off completely.

4. Emergency flashers stopped working.

5. Turn signals won't self switch off - is this mechanical or electrical?

Not sure if this is relevant, but this is a 914/6 conversion with the side marker delete.

John
shoguneagle
Ah!!! What a great time to learn the entire wiring and PATIENCE!

First you need a good wiring schematic and a good ohn/volt meter.

Now I will start at the bottom statement: . . . .914-6 conversion. . . .!
What type of fuel system and year of engine, type of engine, etc. If it has been converted to injection via a late model Porsche engine, it will matter; carbs only as it relates to the car ignition, etc. harness.

#5 can be something as simple as the mechanical breaker lever settig under the steering wheel miss, broke, in backwards. You will need to pull the steering wheel for this as starters.

quesstions 1 to 4: Problems are quite common to 914s or any car that has been setting for sometime. It just needs sorting out. It will require you learning the wiring schematic, tracing with ohn/voltmeter and patience. This should be a fun time for you. The year of the car may make a difference since, for example, the 1974 had a seat relay built in requiring the driver to be setting before starting the car (only year).