Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Unfortunate accident
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Van
It's been a while since I've posted on the 914 board... And, in part, that's because of "out of sight, out of mind" - I've been storing my 914 at a friend's garage for the last 2 years to make room for other projects.

Well, we've had a lot of snow in the north east this winter - and the garage where my car sat wasn't up to the task of supporting all that weight.

The roof came down on the front of my car, it cracked the roof, dented the roll bar, broke the windshield, dented the windshield header, dented the front fenders, and dented the hood. Luckily, I had it insured - but the insurance company has totaled it. Value to repair exceeds the car's value. However, I've had this thing for 19 years... and done a lot of the work myself, so thus begins a new chapter, a second restoration of the car.

If anyone is near New York and has any good body panels, let me know!
Cairo94507
Wow, sorry to hear and see that. I hope you get enough from the insurance company to return it to pre-crush condition.
flippa
How much did the insurance company say that it is worth? Don't let them lowball you on the value of your car!
Johny Blackstain
sad.gif really sorry to see that, hope you can get her rolling again. Is she a 73 or a 74?
ConeDodger
WTF.gif
02loftsmoor
Man that just Sucks , sorry that happened
blowup.gif
zixxv6
I had that same thing happen to a 3000 Healey years ago only it was wind an an old shed. Looks almost identical to how the truss came down on it and from your description very similar damage. It is a really gut wrenching feeling when you see it for the first time.
Java2570
Oh wow, that sucks Van! Sorry to hear that...
JawjaPorsche
Crap! That makes me sick.
GeorgeRud
Yeah, do check with the Hagerty.com website for some valuation help. Most insurer adjusters have little idea of how to deal with 40 some odd year old cars.