Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: Had an injury at work today
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
URY914
For those of you that don't know, I'm a senior project manager on a pretty big hospital construction site. My Super came to me this morning and said we had an iron worker get hurt today. This is the conversation...

Super: "We had a iron worker get hurt and go to the ER this morning"

Me: "What happened, is he alright?"

Super: "Well he said he sat on his balls and injured himself."

Me: "WTF do you mean?"

Super: "Yea, he said he sat down on a beam and hurt his nuts."

Me: "So they checked him out in the ER?"

Super: "Yea, he took a break than returned to work."

Me: "Did he submit for a drug test?" (as he is required to do)

Super:"Well no, he says he smokes dope every night so it would come back positive anyway."

Me: "So I don't have to ask you if you showed him the gate and called his office, right?"

Super: "Done"

Sometimes I don't know how more of these dumbasses don't get killed everyday. IPB Image

Paul
rhodyguy
iron workers tend to be a pretty tough bunch. i can't imagine the the rest of the connecting crew would let him snivel about a little testicular contact. your company got off cheap paul, he was a death claim waiting to happen. lots of hang low if you can sit on them. IPB Image

kevin
maf914
Hey, Paul.

I was having a little trouble trying to visualize the injury you described. Then I realized I didn't really want to visualize it! IPB Image
URY914
You'll notice in the conversation, that I'd ask for details. IPB Image
TimT
I work with i-workers every day, have for the past 20 years or so..

There is a guy on my current job that refuses to tie-off.. when pushed he say "if I fall throw my body in the river" what kind of mentality is that?

real macho, this guy has 4 little kids and a wife at home..
Root_Werks