Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Braking Power
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
lsintampa
75 2.0 FI

So I just got my car finally on the road. It's been a long journey, and this is my first 914, so if my question sounds "dumb" - just give me a new 914 driver break.

All of the latest "old" cars I've owned (74 TR6, 74 BMW) all had brake boosters. The 914 has no "boost".

I find the braking power to be really somewhat below what I expected.

What was I expecting? Well, since I have no prior 914 driving experience I really don't know.

I'm curious if my "newbie" experience is just that I'm not familiar with the lack of braking power, or if perhaps I may have some issue with my brakes?

Rotors all new, pads in good condition, good pedal pressure, 19MM ATE MC from PMB.

Any "road tests" I can do to give me some sort of clue if all is well in brake land?

Thanks,

Len
ThePaintedMan
Have you bedded the pads yet Len? What exactly are you not happy with? You should have no problem locking the fronts up, even with a stock setup
URY914
Is the pedal firm? Getting all the air out can be a PITA sometimes.
Elliot Cannon
agree.gif Make sure they are bled completely. This may help if you haven't seen it. http://www.pmbperformance.com/bedin.html
lsintampa
system was bled and bled again

as far as "bedding" the pads, not sure what that really means

ThePaintedMan
QUOTE(lsintampa @ May 19 2014, 05:10 PM) *

as far as "bedding" the pads, not sure what that really means

Check out the link that Elliott provided to you. I can show you how to do it one night this week as well. Basically need to find a big parking lot and do some hard braking (without stopping).
McMark
If the pedal is soft, you need to bleed it more. Especially because you replaced the master cylinder. The MC really should be bench bled before it's put into the car because it can hide so much air.