Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Erroneous 914 online price guide info
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ky914porsche
I'm a newbie 914 owner and think they're some of the best bang for the buck out there in pint-sized sporty car land. I also happen to like the styling quite a bit, although I realize the auto world is divided on that topic.

In researching my recent 914 purchase online, I was surprised by all of the erroneous price guide info out there on 914 values. I bought a condition 3 car at about 1/2 what about every price guide out there says the year/model is worth, and I saw quite a few advertised 914's advertised at that same general proportion of their "worth". When I look at other classified ads out there for these cars, very few are even advertised at anywhere close to what the price guides say they are "worth".

I find it interesting that the price guides seem to think 914's are a lot pricier than real world available car ads prove them to be. All of the price guides seem to be way overstated- NADA, Hagerty's, or about any others you can find online. Perhaps there are paid subscription collector car pricing guides that are more accurate than these flawed "freebie online valuation guides", but I don't subscribe to any so I don't know. Flawed online price guide example: http://www.hagerty.com/valuationtools/HVT/...eport?vc=954896

I just thought I'd mention this to see what others think about why this is the case.

914_teener
If they are using -6 as comparable to using mean pricing.....then that is erroneous.

Looks to be the case.

You should know from your research that the -6 values are way above the -4 values.
mepstein
Because dealers don't sell the inexpensive cars and it's the dealers and auction houses that report the sales.
JmuRiz
QUOTE(mepstein @ Jun 26 2014, 11:26 AM) *

Because dealers don't sell the inexpensive cars and it's the dealers and auction houses that report the sales.

Bingo!
Mike Fitton