Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Plugging the fuel hose
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ericoneal
I read an article about either draining the tank or plugging the fuel lines prior to dropping the engine. I'd rather just plug the hoses. This is my first time doing this, what is the safest way to plug them?
How much gas can I expect to come out when I first take them off? Will they continue to spill all of the gas from the tank, or just whatever is in the hose until I clamp them off somehow?

Trying to keep all of my bases covered because I dont want to take any chances.
Thanks
ericoneal
I read an article about either draining the tank or plugging the fuel lines prior to dropping the engine. I'd rather just plug the hoses. This is my first time doing this, what is the safest way to plug them?
How much gas can I expect to come out when I first take them off? Will they continue to spill all of the gas from the tank, or just whatever is in the hose until I clamp them off somehow?

Thanks

By the way, its a fuel injected car.
Cap'n Krusty
QUOTE(ericoneal @ Jul 3 2014, 09:59 AM) *

Trying to keep all of my bases covered because I don't want to take any chances.
Thanks

If you have the original FI, the fuel line disconnect is done high in the engine compartment, right near the trunk hinge just aft of the battery. You won't lose more than a few drops of fuel. Even if you disconnect the pressure line at the right fuel rail, the loss will be minor. Plugging the hoses, while not really necessary, can be done with a punch, an 8mm bolt which has an unthreaded shoulder, or pinch-off pliers. You can also just take the pressure hose end and push it on to the return plastic return line. Remember which hose goes where, 'cause the car won't run with the hoses reversed.

Have fun!

The Cap'n
stugray
IIRC, a CV joint bolt fits just right in the line with a snug hose clamp.
KELTY360
QUOTE(ericoneal @ Jul 3 2014, 08:59 AM) *

Thanks