Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Running too rich!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Ben and Ralph
So just got back from the run with some of the guys this morning and everyone was saying i'm running too rich. I do burn through gas pretty quickly and I have barely any pick up if at all going up hill. I am no mechanic but I am a fast learner and i really want to tackle this problem. What's the first thing i should do/check? This is my set up: dual solex carbs, I believe they are 38sClick to view attachment
Mblizzard
What engine? You really need a air fuel meter to set things correctly..

I would check your fuel pressure, float levels, and clean out all of your jets.

Ben and Ralph
It was a 1.7 bored to a 1.8, so I should take it to VW shop maybe? ask if they have a meter to test it? are cleaning out the the jets something i can do on my own?
Ben and Ralph
I have close to 0 knowledge about carbs, and i'm wondering if anyone knows a shop or some one here in southern california that could help me out with this problem and I could learn more about them in the process.
Mblizzard
Well I am not sure how long you have been driving with carbs but they usually require some maintenance to keep them running well,

So I think you will want to learn how to adjust them at some point. But it may be worth the money to have them set by someone that is knowledgeable and go from there.

You can by a air fuel gauge and have it installed. Worth the money for sure. It will tell you when things are going amiss with your carbs before you get to the point of having no power.

Search for the weber tech guide and buy a copy. It is an old book but has the best information on adjusting carbs. You will also need a snail gauge to ensure the carbs are balanced.

Pull your plugs and see where they fall on the chart below.

Click to view attachment
PotterPorsche