Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Starting Issue: only starts when clutch pedal is mashed to the floor
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bcsellie
I'm new to the 914 world (have a 930 turbo) and need a little help. The car will not start until the clutch pedal is mashed to the floorboard, almost like it has a bad clutch switch (don't think they have them). Any thoughts as to why this is happening? Is there a switch on the transmission side that is tripped when the clutched is depressed that needs adjusting?

Blaine
cary
Need more details on the no start.
Car is turning over?

And no there aren't switches. Clutch really has nothing to do with starting.
Except unless clutch cable is wrapped around the accelerator cable in the center tube. Or your clutch is so far out of adjustment that your trying to start it with the transmission engaged. Does it do the same thing with the transmission in neutral?
bcsellie
Thanks Cary... Turn the key to start, no click, no noise, no turning over. Press the clutch deeper into the floor boards and the starter begins to engage. This occurs when the car is in neutral as well.

Clutch operates as it normally should when started. Frustrating!

Is the clutch pedal creating a ground when its mashed to the floor to engage the starter?
stugray
QUOTE(bcsellie @ Sep 7 2014, 10:01 AM) *

Is the clutch pedal creating a ground when its mashed to the floor to engage the starter?

That is the only thing that makes sense.

Check/replace the ground strap from the back of the tranny to the chassis.
Dave_Darling
That is possible--and if that's what it is doing, it won't last long.