Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Swaybar Bushings….
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Larmo63
I'm installing stock sway bars front and back in a '73 914 and I'd like some recommendations on rubber vs urethane. Also,
are front and rear link bushings a different configuration? I don't want a squeaky ride. Thank you.
76-914
Your going to get some squeeking if you use poly.

EDIT: Warning, I am not an expert but I did made the mistake of installing them on my '73.
Larmo63
Are front and back drop link bushings different?
Mike Bellis
I run poly, no squeaks. A little talcum powder will reduce noise but I did not use any.
bdstone914
QUOTE(Larmo63 @ Sep 11 2014, 04:08 PM) *

I'm installing stock sway bars front and back in a '73 914 and I'd like some recommendations on rubber vs urethane. Also,
are front and rear link bushings a different configuration? I don't want a squeaky ride. Thank you.

Front drop link bushings are rubber with steel inserts. The rear drop link bushings are a white plastic cup type. They don't squeak. I have seen the front bar bushings in Poly but I am not aware of anyone selling urethane sway bar drop link bushings. 914 Rubber sells the rear bar bushings.

I prefer the WeltMeister front drop link bushings as they are a two piece that makes installation easy. I would get the OE Porsche rear drop link bushings. They are a PITA to install. Uro also makes them but I have had fit problems with most of their bushings.
76-914
I missed sway bar, headbang.gif
colingreene
id just go with rubber.
but if you choose to go with poly i have lube that will make it not squeek.
drbill
QUOTE(bdstone914 @ Sep 11 2014, 05:35 PM) *

QUOTE(Larmo63 @ Sep 11 2014, 04:08 PM) *