Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Another rear main seal question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rjames
After reading countless threads for the correct way to install the rear main seal I've found contradicting info and need some guidance.

Question #1: There seems to be a consensus that only engine oil should be used on the seal. Makes sense. but I've read posts from Jake where he has said to oil both the inner and outer surfaces and another post where he states NOT to oil the outer diameter of the seal. I of course found the latter info after I oiled the OD of the seal to aid in the install. Should I not have oiled the outer diameter if the seal?

#2: I was able to seat the seal recessed. in about 1-2mm of the case before I couldn't get it to go in farther. I don't think it's all the way back against the back if the bore though. Is it in far enough?

rjames
Anyone?
DRPHIL914
i am by no means an expert here but, i just did this a few months ago. I dont think you have to worry about having lubed the seal if its with oil. I did mine and have had no leakage at all since replacing mine.

Here is a question for you- did you check your crank shaft endplay? i almost missed this a lucky that i did it because it was slightly out of spec and had to change shims to make sure it was in spec,- it should always be measured if you have it torn down to this point. - instructions are on line and in the manual but others can chime in here regarding it, . shims are expensive and some sizes are hard to find. my mechanic sourced them from FAT performance in CA. we measured, shimmed , remeasured- was with in spec, then installed the new RMS, along with new pilot bearing, felt washer etc, flywheel then bolted back on to specs et etc. .