Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Found a New Set of KYB Rear Shocks
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Last930
While cleaning out a house for an estate sale I found a an unused set of of KYB gas charged rear shocks for a 914; cross referencing the part # shows they will fit my '73 2.0. There is also a set of Weltmeister progressive wound springs; doesn't say what the pound rating is. I assume they were originally ordered at the same time as the shocks.

I have no experience with KYB shocks - any input from those that have used them? I have to think they would be an improvement over what appears to be the original shocks that the car came with.

The springs came in a Weltmeister box, but have no p/n on them. They appear to have never been used. My guess would be that the springs and shocks were both ordered at the same time quite some time ago, but never installed on the 914.

Thoughts or comments?
Java2570
I had a set on the rear of my '74 when I got it, found them very harsh and unpleasant. I prefer the Boge replacements I installed....
messix
try them out, easy to install.

if they are too stiff try the stock springs.
bandjoey
What color are the spring markings? (Like 3 green paint marks on black springs. )
KELTY360
I have no personal experience, but I've heard that KYB stands for Kill Your Butt. shades.gif
mepstein
I've had them. They suck. If you need something to use until your koni, bilstein or boge's show up that's understandable. Otherwise, they suck.
SirAndy
QUOTE(Java2570 @ Nov 24 2014, 02:03 PM) *
I had a set on the rear of my '74 when I got it, found them very harsh and unpleasant.

KYB = Kill Your Back

They don't deserve to be called "shock absorbers" ...
dry.gif
Last930
QUOTE(bandjoey @ Nov 24 2014, 04:47 PM) *

What color are the spring markings? (Like 3 green paint marks on black springs. )

The springs have a silver stripe on one side.
ConeDodger
QUOTE(SirAndy @ Nov 24 2014, 02:54 PM) *