Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Back in the bumper top game
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mikey914
For those of you that have been around for awhile, you may have remembered my bumper tops that I made from solid rubber. I cast them in silicone and they were a real pain to make, but made quite a few.
The silicone molds wore out and I was looking at recasting, but the labor was keeping cost on these pretty high, so there was not much money in making these.

Meanwhile, AA decided to start making these overseas. George offered to sell these to me at slightly more than what it cost me to make them, and so for awhile I was selling his. This last April, the supply of bumper tops dried up. I have been asking for them for the last 6 months, as I had some orders for them, each month, it's next month they will be in. Finally I had to make these. The tooling was $20k+. But they are made in the USA, and when I sell one I can tell you when you will have it.

The molds have been proven, the fronts are in production an the rears are coming online tomorrow. so the 6 sets I have on back order will be shipping out next week. Thank you for your patience, I did have to step up to assure you would get your product, my only regret is that I didn't do it sooner. I had trusted that the next month they would be in, but after the pattern got stretched out this far I had to fulfill my promise to get my customers the parts I sold them.
altitude411
Cap'n, those look fantastic! You are a stand up vendor... nice work. first.gif I'll be flyin one of those on the front of my six soon.

* dash molds are next? (wish)
rhodyguy
Wow, that was fast. Nice work mark.
sb914
Are the Fiberglass ones being made to?
buck toenges
Can I order a back one now or do I need to wait? Can I do it here or on your web page?
Mikey914
QUOTE(sb914 @ Dec 4 2014, 05:59 AM) *

Yes,