Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Help, please. Car stalls after it's warmed up.
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Cuda911
1973 1.7, FI.

The car starts up fine, and runs perfectly when cold. Idle is at about 1,100 or so, However, after driving for maybe 30 min. and everything's fully warmed up, the car stalls when stopped, like at a traffic light. The idle drops way down, then stalls out.

It will start right back up no problem, but makes stop-and-go driving a rather harrowing experience. I need to heel-toe it every time I slow down, to keep the RPMs up and prevent a stall.

Pretty much everything on the car is stock.

What should I be looking at to address this?

I did some searches, and the three things I came up with are Manifold Pressure Sensor (MPS), Cylinder Head Temperature Sensor (CHTS), and points.

Please note, I'm a noob at working on this car, so please provide specific details, if possible.

Thanks in advance.
BeatNavy
QUOTE(Cuda911 @ Dec 22 2014, 03:17 AM) *

1973 1.7, FI.

The car starts up fine, and runs perfectly when cold. Idle is at about 1,100 or so, However, after driving for maybe 30 min. and everything's fully warmed up, the car stalls when stopped, like at a traffic light. The idle drops way down, then stalls out.

It will start right back up no problem, but makes stop-and-go driving a rather harrowing experience. I need to heel-toe it every time I slow down, to keep the RPMs up and prevent a stall.

Pretty much everything on the car is stock.

What should I be looking at to address this?

I did some searches, and the three things I came up with are Manifold Pressure Sensor (MPS), Cylinder Head Temperature Sensor (CHTS), and points.

Please note, I'm a noob at working on this car, so please provide specific details, if possible.

Thanks in advance.

Hi Mike,