Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: So my windshield leaks like a seive...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
horizontally-opposed
I know the last turkey who installed my windshield did a bad job. Now that I am actually using the car regularly, I need to get this sealed up. After a car wash, water literally pours onto my feet when I accelerate... sad.gif

I know I'll need to pull the windshield (I am buying a new one), but any suggestions on things (seals, etc) to look out for when we're in there a very good installer (by word of mouth) might NOT know about the 914 application?

IS there even a seal once you get past the alum. trim and clips? Or does the glass itself just glue in? What about the rubber I can see at the absolute front of the dash?

Many thanks,

pete
bd1308
now i am no expert on this matter, but from what I have noticed in my car, there seems to be a adhesive that holds the window in place below the aluminum trim (which by the way just snaps onto the frame[per say])Anyway, there should be some window rubber that you would need to buy (look at the AA "914 Body" section for that) Hoep that helps

-B
bd1308
BE EXTRA SUPER-DUPER CRAZY CAREFUL with that aluminum trim. That stuff will mess up so fast your head will spin....and then you'll feel your credit card get warm....you'll see what i mean wink.gif
Dave_Darling
You may have "extra" problems, Pete...

There is only one seal, and that goes between the windshield and the dash. If you were thinking you might want to replace it some time before the next time the windshield is out, then do it this time! I don't think it can be done with the windshield in the car... There are two (I think!) rubber blocks that help locate the windshield; they go at the bottom and the edge of the WS rests on them.

The clips that hold the window trim on are held in by the glass. You usually break some when removing the trim (you don't want to bend the trim!!) so it's good to have new ones on hand.