Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: heat exchanger question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
TROJANMAN
can i swap my 75 2.0 HE's with a pre 75 car? and if so, will this help performance? and...........does anyone have some? and.............would anyone want mine?
thanks in advance smile.gif
Allan
Yes you can. I am doing the same thing to mine. If you look at the '75-'76 H/E's you will notice that the exhaust goes forward first then to the back which I understand dosn't flow well. You will need to also replace all of the tubes that go to the heater flapper valves and the exhaust hanger, plus a new muffler.
TROJANMAN
are these all items i can scrape from a parts car and easily install, or will i need to make modifications?
Allan
QUOTE (glstrojan @ Feb 3 2005, 10:14 AM)
are these all items i can scrape from a parts car and easily install

It's my first time so I hope so. Actually I believe as long as you can find the parts everything should bolt up with no problem.
Root_Werks
Shameless plug here. rolleyes.gif

If you live in CA, don't you have to keep the ability to have the CAT on for the 75-76 914's?

Anyway, I have a Bursch header w/cat bypass. Used, nice shape. PM me if you want it cheap. Just in case you decide to stick with the stock set up.

Yeah, the 73-74' 2.0 is the better set up by far. wink.gif
Dave_Darling
Do a search. I posted a list of what you need from the earlier cars a little while back...

--DD
double-a
agree.gif

i referred to that list a few weeks ago when i began looking for the necessary parts.

~a
MarkG
quote" To use the 2.0 heat exchangers (or SSIs) on a 75-76 914 (either 1.8 or 2.0), you will need:

The 2.0 exchangers
The 2.0 muffler
The 2.0 muffler hanger
2 muffler gaskets
4 2.0 exhaust gaskets (the copper rings)
8 exhaust nuts (usually best to replace them)
All of the heater hardware except for some hoses. That means--

• 2 S-shaped ducts from the fan shroud to the exchangers