Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: engine options
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
HaraPuzo
Hi, I'm curious to know about engine options to build a "six". I've seen other 911 engines and subaru engines too. but has anyone tried Honda/Acura? Maybe a motorcycle engine build? I'm no mechanic. not sure if this is even possible.
any advice is welcome smile.gif
Thank you!
Mueller
QUOTE(HaraPuzo @ Jan 21 2015, 10:50 AM) *

Hi, I'm curious to know about engine options to build a "six". I've seen other 911 engines and subaru engines too. but has anyone tried Honda/Acura? Maybe a motorcycle engine build? I'm no mechanic. not sure if this is even possible.
Thank you!

A simple google search will find plenty of other "six" conversions....

I posted a thread about an Acura one a few weeks ago, there is a Ford SHO being done currently if you search, a Nissan V6 (nice install and quick car, gave my old 3.6 911 a good run against it!)

Also, Buick V6 and Chevy V6's have been done.

See Kennedy Engineering, they list what adapters they make, so good chances are one of their setups have been used in a 914 conversion.
HaraPuzo
QUOTE(Mueller @ Jan 21 2015, 02:05 PM) *

QUOTE(HaraPuzo @ Jan 21 2015, 10:50 AM) *

Thank you!

A simple google search will find plenty of other "six" conversions....

I posted a thread about an Acura one a few weeks ago, there is a Ford SHO being done currently if you search, a Nissan V6 (nice install and quick car, gave my old 3.6 911 a good run against it!)

Also, Buick V6 and Chevy V6's have been done.

See Kennedy Engineering, they list what adapters they make, so good chances are one of their setups have been used in a 914 conversion.

thanks Mueller for the link. will keep looking on google too.
SirAndy
IMHO, smaller 911 engines (up to 3.2L) are by far the easiest to install since they are a direct bolt in and the 914 chassis was built to accommodate them.

shades.gif
Mueller