Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie Brake Questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
VWTortuga336
Still working on getting my '74 back on the road after it has been sitting for 10+ years. I'm now looking into the brakes. I have no experience with them and I am about to start reading up in my Haynes manual, but I also wanted to get input here before I dove in.

First things first, the rear passenger side caliper is totally stuck (I pushed the car into the garage, but can't even come close to getting the tire to turn by hand). With the tire off, I can see that the pads are closed tight against the rotor. What would cause this, i.e., what should I be looking for and what should I be doing to correct it?

I plan on also pulling out the master cylinder for rebuild and figuring out why the hand brake doesn't work. What else should I be doing in my "brake revitalization"?
mobymutt
You can look at the top video here:

http://www.pmbperformance.com/video.html
type47
QUOTE(VWTortuga336 @ Feb 20 2015, 05:21 PM) *

... pulling out the master cylinder for rebuild ...