Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Quick Question for the engine gurus...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Rockaria
Hello,

A quick question for the experts. I want to rebuild my engine and cost IS a factor. I am not looking for more power, just a fresh rebuild I can do myself. I have a 1.8 stock with FI. I cannot seem to find any good deals on 93mm Piston sets (Cheapest is $500). But I can find tons of good deals on 94mm sets ($230 for Mahle).

Can I get the 94mm and just slide it in and use it on my stock 1.8 block?

Thanks in advance,
skline
I am not an expert on it but I will throw my 2 cents in, I would go with the 94s and then just adjust the FI to compensate for the difference in displacement. I cant see where it would make a huge difference but I could be wrong.

Make sure the piston will work with a 66mm stroke however or you could run into problems. The barrels will slide right into your case. What you could do, is find a 2 liter crank and rods and swap that out too. I just dont know if the FI will work with such a displacement change. Someone here should know.
ArtechnikA
QUOTE (Rockaria @ Feb 8 2005, 10:31 AM)
...I am not looking for more power, just a fresh rebuild I can do myself....

then what problem *are* you trying to fix ?
Aaron Cox
not a huge differerence in displacement

66 x 94 = 1.832L
66 x 93 = 1.795L
Bleyseng
I would find a 2.0l crank and rod set and get 96mm p&c's if you are going to the trouble of rebuilding. The AA 96mm's from Jake are around $300, rods cost the same to rebuild and you are going to have to balance everything so go with the bigger stuff and get some hp. The 1.8 heads will need to be rebuilt too so go to the 42x36 valves plus a Jake cam.
or just get on of his engine kits as its all done just install it!If I had never rebuilt and engine this is the way to go.
Geoff
Rockaria
QUOTE (ArtechnikA @ Feb 8 2005, 09:39 AM)
QUOTE (Rockaria @ Feb 8 2005, 10:31 AM)