Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Front suspension rehab
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
mepstein
I'd like to replace the ball joints and tie rods on my '71 - 4. Everything is stock. I've never done this before. Are there any good threads for this that explain simple and clear. Any tips or tricks to make this as easy as possible. I need all the help I can get. Thanks, Mark
Spoke
For the nut holding the ball joint on, heat, PB blaster, pipe wrench and cheater to remove it. It's one tough nut to take off. Buy new nuts and lock plates.

Buy turbo tie rods from Lemforder or other quality manufacturer.
mepstein
QUOTE(Spoke @ Mar 15 2015, 04:00 PM) *

For the nut holding the ball joint on, heat, PB blaster, pipe wrench and cheater to remove it. It's one tough nut to take off. Buy new nuts and lock plates.

Buy turbo tie rods from Lemforder or other quality manufacturer.

All ready have the parts, bought from PMB long ago. I just need to do it. But there are usually tips, tricks and proper tools that make everything easier.
okieflyr
As I recall, I'd wished that I had left the arm bolted up while fighting to remove the ball joint nut (dismantled parts car). If you have a good vice setup then it may not matter much. An impact chisel gun was needed in my case.
BeatNavy
QUOTE(okieflyr @ Mar 15 2015, 04:44 PM) *

As I recall, I'd wished that I had left the arm bolted up while fighting to remove the ball joint nut (dismantled parts car). If you have a good vice setup then it may not matter much. An impact chisel gun was needed in my case.