Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Going to dual Carbs from single Carb
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
dcecc1968
I have a 1.7L engine with single carb now. So I bought some dual Weber 40 IDF 70 B3, with 32mm venturis with hex bar, mount, intake headers, etc. from Stevegm last year and am getting ready to install them. I'm a novice mechanic at best, so I have some basic questions:

1. From what I read, I need smaller venturis. The power I have now with a single carb is fine for me, but I'm only getting 19 mpg and I see some guys getting 40 mpg, I would like more fuel economy. Any recommendations?

2. For the fuel line, ss there a special fuel line splitter I need to install, or just a "T" or "Y" connector?

3. I have gaskets for the "carb to intake header", is there a gasket for the "intake header to the engine" or can I just use hi-temp RTV?

4. Since I'm so visual, I would love to see some photos of your set up if you have dual carbs.

Thanks in advance.

stugray
1 - yes you will need smaller I believe my 2.0L is running 28s

2 - No special splitter, but the stock fuel inlet on the Webers is an odd fuel line size. I don't remember if the Dellortos are the same, but make sure to get the right size or it wont seal well.

I put a fuel filter between the fuel pressure regulator and the carbs.
If you get the glass fuel filter from your FLAPS they come with multiple sizes of hose barbs that thread in so you can go from 3/8 fuel line to just about any other size without an additional adapter.

3 - Between the intake manifolds and the heads, you want to use the phenolic spacers to keep from conducting heat from the heads to the carbs.
DBCooper
If you're a novice you should really get the Tomlinson Dellorto book from CBPerformance. It will have all the info you need and more, HERE

CB used to be the Dellorto importer so they're also a good place for parts HERE.

dcecc1968
Thanks for your input guys.