Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Cam Timing Question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
Borderline
I'm in the middle of upgrading my AX engine. I'm putting in a 78 mm stroker crank to go with the 103mm pistons giving me a 2.6L T4. I have a Scat cam that has about 262* of duration on my 2366 cc engine that I've been running for the past 4 years or so. I finally decided that I would go with a slightly more aggressive cam with 272* duration and bought a Web Cam 86c. the timing card is shown below. Now the question is when I install this cam and check the valve timing at the valve using .050" valve lift, how many degrees of duration should I measure? I was expecting 272* plus or minus a couple. I guess the real engine builders will know what I got. What do you think I should have expected?

Click to view attachment
Borderline
I guess I should have been more clear. when I bought a cam that said it had 272* duration @ .050" lift at the valve I was actually expecting to measure 272* of duration at the valve. What I got was 282+* of duration at the valve. My buddy with a bunch to T1 experience did some calling and came back with "everyone knows that the .050" duration is measured at the cam". The rocker ratio changes the duration at the valve and as the cam grinder doesn't know your rocker ratio he can only spec the cam.

The Scat cam that I installed 4 years ago was specified as 262*. When I installed it, it measured 262* at the valve. I just checked the timing at the cam and it is 252* at the cam. So now I'm a little frustrated not knowing what I'm going to get. My buddy gave me a Scat 271* cam about 6 weeks ago. It checked out at 282* at the valve. So I'm even more confused. I just think that 282* is too much cam for an AX.

The people at Web Cam have been very nice and they are going to regrind the cam with the 86b profile. That should have a 262* duration at the cam and give me 272* at the valve.............I hope. headbang.gif