Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Another Welding Question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Allan
My fleet mechanic is going to let me use his welder so I can teach myself the art. It's a Lincoln Weld Pak 100 HD. He will give me the basic tour, i.e., plug it in over here, turn it on here, open this valve, don't set the garage on fire, etc. Is anyone familiar with this type of welder and any words of wisdom/encouragement? I've never tried it before.
Mueller
home depot sells a book in the welding department...spend the $12 smile.gif

Trekkor
That's basically the same welder I have.

You can learn a lot by just experimenting with the settings on different thicknesses of metal scrap or pipe.

Clip the ground on the steel pipe and crank up the settings. See what that does. Make several 2-3 inch long passes. Do little "U" shaped moves as you move down the pipe letting the metal puddle back up on itself.

Then try lower settings until you notice the weld no longer penetrates due to lack of heat ( voltage )

Try sheet metal. Weld pieces together and then try to break your welds. Spend an hour or two and get comfortable with the whole process. Set the gas to 15-20 psi. Higher if you are out in the wind.

Welding is really fun and satisfying.

KT
riverman
I have a Lincoln SP100-T which I think is the same welder (Canadian designation) and I learned to use it in a few days. My suggestions:

-see if you can get an auto-darkening helmet. It takes the learning curve right down because you can see what you are doing the whole time.

-do NOT practice on your car. Get some light gauge steel and fool around with different welds, different positions, and different settings until you learn how to control the weld puddle and penetration.

Once you get it right it is as easy to use a Mig welder as it is to use a caulking gun and it should sound like bacon frying with little or no weld spatter.
xsboost90
then youll be buying one fo sho!!
CptTripps