Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Clutch Failure
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
mikedsilva
I'm new to 914 and have no experience with gearboxes...
Tonight, my clutch failed.. the pedal went to the floor.
The cable is fine (new)... But turns out that the "fork" the cable is connected to in the gearbox, seems to pivot back and forth freely.

The clutch is still engaged but that fork piece doesn't appear to be attached to it.

With the basic description I have given, any ideas what it is?

Sounds like I will be doing my first gearbox removal...

Here is a link to a short vid I just took...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3sahANR2ow
pilothyer
Sounds like the clutch cable tube (inside the tunnel) has broken. If you can verify that it has not, you will be removing the transaxle to see what is wrong and it will be fairly easy to see. The clutch cable tube usually breaks free from the weld at the front and then the back at the firewall. Here is a picture of the tunnel (removed and up side down) the tube in question is the largest one in the picture.

Click to view attachment
edwin
Mine had a sheared ball pivot in the bell housing when I got it.
Could also be the pedal roll pin which will drop the cable tension as I remember.
Hydraulic is a nice fix if you can get your head around it.
bandjoey
agree.gif easy to verify. Pull up the carpet, remove the inspection plates by the shifter, use Hand,mirror and light to find and wiggle the tube. If it moves let us know for further instructions.
TheCabinetmaker