Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: /6 Headers and Muffler flanges don't line up!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tornik550
I am moving along on my 914/6 conversion. I basically have a 2.7l engine. I have new MSDS headers and a M&K Muffler (MKM26). I installed the headers without difficulty. I did torque them before installing the muffler. I then went to install the muffler and the distance between the exhaust flanges is 3cm narrower than the flanges on the headers. The distance between the muffler flanges is 58cm (center to center). The distance between the header flanges is 61cm.

What is going on?

Here are my three theories.
1. I shouldn't have torqued the header bolts before installing the muffler. I may be able to rotate the headers inward a bit.

2. Wrong muffler? Doubtful

3. Headers are bent or something like that- extremely doubtful.

Any ideas?
EdwardBlume
I'm no expert on /6s but there's a stub pipe on each side of mine that's meant to be adjusted based on whatever muffler you choose.
Krieger
You new the answer. #1 Get headers and muffler on and together first, then tighten it all up.
bcheney
QUOTE(Krieger @ Apr 26 2015, 09:16 PM) *

You new the answer. #1 Get headers and muffler on and together first, then tighten it all up.

agree.gif
mskala
Similar thing here. I didn't measure it, but it probably wasn't as much as 3cm.
I have msds header and stock muffler. Next time I will try not tightening the
head nuts until muffler is on, but this time I ended up using a strap clamp to
pull the ends where I needed them to be. It is too much force to try to hold
things manually while installing the bolts and nuts.
campbellcj
I've experienced the same thing and it seems pretty common to have to move things around, either by loosening the parts up for significant adjustments or just pushing-and-pulling if you're close.
73six
I have a different problem with the headers on my six conversion.