Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Won't start
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Hammy
Well we just got the 914 out of the shop and running right (When it started).
So I pull up in the driveway after driving my step mom around, showing her how good it finally runs, and I kill the engine going up the driveway (yes.. still learning the clutch)

So I go start it up again, and I get nothing. Turn the key all the way and you can hear the fuel pump running, but nothing else goes. This happened before, but our *old* mechanic did some sort of start wiring 'relay' I believe he called it. Well now that seems to be a temporary fix 'cause it still won't start a day later. What gives? sad.gif
MecGen
Yo
Check the wiring around the relay he put in, start at the battery and work your way forward. Might be as stupid as a wire falling off, or maybe a clutch jerk on a connector somewhere, bad part. Sorry man, I am a mechanic, so I would not always asume its shoddy work.
Take a deep breath, and call the guy, see what he says.
Happy your driving a 914 yet ??
screwy.gif
WBR
Joe
Rand
Deja vu. There have been a few posts on this. This is exactly what happened to me... drove my new purchase home and parked it in the driveway, only to find out it would start next time. Hooking up a temporary push-button switch between solenoid and battery (actually, 12v terminal at starter) got me running and into the garage.

In American cars, cleaning the battery terminals has fixed this for me more often than not. In 914s, I've had more problems with ignition switches.