Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: weber 44's with a 1700
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
broomhandle
I have a 1.7 and will be running weber 44's. I am assuming they will run too rich. I was thinking jetting, but any ideas?

the motor is apart right now, any ideas of slight mods to get some HP and so these 44's can run correctly.

also, I have seen a few people who have cables for linkage which is much better. anybody making these brackets?

my 914 has been sitting for 7 years... its time to get it going!!!!!

any help or insight would be great. smile.gif
pilothyer
Check to see what size venturis you have in them, you can change them to be more suitable for the 1.7 You can get sizes from 28mm up to 36mm for the 44IDF
r3dplanet
I have some experience with this.

I tried to get a pair of Weber 44 carbs to work on what I thought was a 1.7 only to discover later that the displacement was 1911cc. What made it sort of work were 28mm chokes bought here: http://www.carburetion.com/Weber/weberventuri.asp
(part #75107.280).

The jetting I used wouldn't be appropriate for the 1.7 so you'll have to lean them way down by trial and error or perhaps someone else will chime in with a workable jetting combo. In my modest opinion, if you don't have or don't want an A/F meter, you'll never get it dialed in correctly. The tiniest change has a large impact on your fuel ratios.

Eventually I bought a lovely pair of Dellorto DRLA 36 carbs. You might consider selling off your Weber 44s and just buying a more suitable setup. My expensive mistake was buying a bunch of unnecessary jetting parts and tuning the Webers with an A/F meter over a long period only to never get them quite right. Having spent all that initial money, I ended up spending more than what was necessary by buying the Dellortos plus all new jets and whatnot for the new setup.

The only upside is that I became skilled at tuning Weber carbs.