Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: engine removal
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
fduval
Hi , can someone guide me to an engine removal procedures..thread.. I am new to 914`s and want to remove my 2 liters and transplant a 6 cyl. But I need to start at the begining !
Thanks
Hine62

I used this...Engine Drop
bigkensteele
There are some good tips in this thread as well.

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?s=&...t&p=1996143
malcolm2
Keep using the search feature on this BBS. You will run into lots of posts. Get a Haynes and a Climer manual. There are a couple other ones too. It is a bit intimidating the 1st time. But most folks can do it by themselves the 2nd, 3rd, etc...

Harbor Freight has this cool jack. It will support the engine and the trans. Put a pad or towel or something soft on it. Metal on metal is slippery. I never used the strap. It will wobble some so get someone to keep a hand on it, but you can get it to balance the engine trans combo.

Click to view attachment
JawjaPorsche
Here is another one:

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?act...t&id=464034
fduval
QUOTE(Hine62 @ May 19 2015, 01:03 PM) *

I used this...Engine Drop

Thanks, Iread all of it and it looks quite simple if you follow the steps. regards
fduval
QUOTE(JawjaPorsche @ May 19 2015, 01:13 PM) *

Great to have so many pictures, thanks
somd914
My first engine drop took a better part of a day - we spent more time fighting rusted hardware than removing the engine. The next time we had it done and over with in a couple of hours.

So my advice is to soak heater tube hardware, heat exchanger nuts, etc with Kroil and start on those pieces before you actually get a friend or two over to help with the drop.
forrestkhaag
Pelican Parts has a step by step process for a safe one-man drop and insert / just did it. No issues / follow the steps and follow the tools needed so you don't get into it and start cutting corners which result in death.