Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Selling my street 914
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
nine14cats
Hello Gang,

I would like your opinions on prepping a car for sale. The goal is fair market value and what should you do prepping the car to realize maximum fair value. I am not a professional car salesman so any help is appreciated.

I will soon be putting my street 914 up for sale. It is:

1976 2.0 Yellow on Black with the yellow and black plaid seat cushions. Bilsteins all around, Gas Burner wheels, BMW brake "upgrade" up front (P0 did this), NO Swaybars from the factory, bone stock motor with smog pump still working. 115k miles on the clock. I have receipts of work done to it by the 3 previous owners. I will add my receipts to the log.

The Good
------------
Car is original color and looks to have only one re-spray. The car passes emmissions in CA. Other than the BMW brake upgrade, the car is all original in appearance, everything is there. Does have a Momo steering wheel but I have the original. Appears to have never been in a fender bender. No rust in trunks or doors or longs. Interior in very good to excellent shape. Carpet clean, door panels and dash excellent. Transaxle shifts great. Rides very nice.

The Bad
----------
The battery tray is rusted. It will need to be replaced. The Hell Hole is fine, only surface rust. A few surface rust areas by the lower drivers side windshield. They have been handpainted. The seat material is original, ripped up and in need of being re-done. The dash has a coverlay over it, it is cracked underneath. And there are a few door dings, but no dents.

Why Selling?
----------------