Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New guy introduction; also seeks advice
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ChuckBiscuits
Hello,
Just wanted to introduce myself and to pick your (collective) brain. My name is Chuck and I live in Seattle, WA. I have been "battling" 914 lust for a couple of years now, off and on. Recently, I got a new job that came with 2 important things: a significant increase in salary and a much-abbreviated commute. These 2 factors will enable me to realize my dream of affordable German go-kart ownership.

Through Google research, I have learned that rust is a significant issue. I have familiarized myself with where to look for the red cancer, but what I'm looking for is other things to take into consideration. It seems like '73 is the "sweet spot" if one wants to keep his/her 914 stock/original. I have not ruled out a Subaru/Renegade swap. I am a welder/fabricator by trade, or was until 2 weeks ago. I'm totally comfortable with, albeit not really equipped for, building motor mounts and/or replacing rusty panels. Frankly, I'd rather do the former than the latter. I'm sure you understand.

Anyway, I'll keep this brief. Any advice or "school of hard knocks" type stuff you can offer will be greatly appreciated. For instance, spend $15k for a nice rust-free example and leave stock or buy a beater for $1k and pop in a WRX motor?

I've got a lot to learn. Thanks for any info you feel like donating!

CB welder.gif
mepstein

Buy the best car you can afford.

welcome.png
914bub
QUOTE(mepstein @ Jul 4 2015, 06:56 PM) *

welcome.png

Best advise you'll get.Oh and bring a sharp, heavy, screwdriver.

welcome.png
ChuckBiscuits
QUOTE(914bub @ Jul 4 2015, 07:34 PM) *

welcome.png

welcome.png

To poke for rust? I like your style!
ChuckBiscuits

welcome.png

Roger that. I guess I'm sort of searching for a feel of originality vs reliability vs desecration vs collectibility. You know....

Thanks!
Cairo94507
welcome.png