Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Twisted
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Maine914
My 1972 914 dips on the drivers side. In other words, its about an inch lower on that side. The tire has only a 1/2 clearance to the fender in back on the drivers side [which seems too small.] Based on the concensus of the 914Club BBS, I put on new springs [165s from PP.]. Springs look nice and shiny, but no change in the dip. I also looked under the car very closely -- there is no dignificant rust, and no sag. It is reputed that this car took a roll in an earlier life in CA. Is it possible the body is just twisted? If I can't get it untwisted, to be safer, would smaller tires make sense? It has 185s on it now with Riviera rims.
Thanks
SirAndy
check the suspension console in the rear for cracks ...

Andy
Maine914
I did...or think I did. Any tips on where to look in particular? Remember, I'm a newbie.
seanery
the arm that connects to the rear wheel. look for any cracks, tears, holes, etc...
If it has been hit on that side, it can do damage to the trailing arm and where it connects to the car.
mskala
Don't fear the worst right away (unless you know something I don't). Even
with the springs on the back set to the same groove or perch height, the
car will not necessarily be level in the back depending on the settings of
the front torsion bar adjustment. I guess I would only assume the chassis
has a problem if it is leaning a lot after proper corner weighting.
DNHunt
Did ya drive it. They often come off the jacks lopsided even if you don't change anything. Rolling it is not enough.

Dave
SirAndy
suspension console usally cracks above where the trailing arm mounts.
get under the car, see where the trailing arm is mounted to the chassis. (big bolt). that's where the arm pivots.
now look at the mount from the "inside" and look for any cracks.

Andy
mskala
If you are up to it and near southern maine, I am about 10mi