Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: HELP - right side of motor not firing
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
machina
the right side of the motor (3&4) quit firing. checked the plug leads but doesn't change anything.

could there be a problem with the carb? when I disconnect the linkage and push on the left carb the motor revs but when I push on the right carb it does not rev faster, only sounds different from opening the throttle plates.

sorry, I'm a carb newbie. blink.gif
Tom Perso
Since you've got your linkage apart... With the engine off, hit the throttle a couple of times on the unresponsive carb. If you look down the throat while you're doing this, you should see the accelerator jets squirt some fuel.

If you do, that means you at least have fuel in the bowl. If not, see why there is no fuel going in. It could be a stuck float... If it's stuck in the "up" position, it closes the fuel inlet valve. Give the side of the carb a good "rap" and see if it unsticks.

If you've got fuel in there, you've probably got some clogged idle jets. Take em' out and clean them. It's usually easiest to remove the carb to do this. Little pieces that are easy to 1) drop and 2) break.

Since there is NO difference when you move the throttle when it's running, I'm going to go for the stuck float.

Later,
Tom
MecGen
Hi
Turn motor off.
Look down the carb while someone presses the gas pedal.
You should see a steam of gas shooting down in both carbs.
Check for spark while motor is running, carefully remove the plug wires and see/hear a spark jumping.
After that you need to check the compression....
You will get a shock from the plug wires, it hurts its normal.
Good luck
Joe

beerchug.gif
jwalters