Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Brake repair cost
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Annapolis914
Newbie here whose 1974 914 2.0 is in shop and they are telling me front and rear brakes are bad. What is a good estimate for front and rear calipers installed? Assume rotors and pads also need replaced. I almost fainted when he gave me the quote......and I need to validate their cost please. Thanks.
Cairo94507
Please do yourself a huge favor and call Eric at PMB Performance in Utah. He is the one-stop shopping, brake expert for our cars. Don't let a shop talk you into other rebuilt units that just won't be done to Eric's quality & standards. http://www.pmbperformance.com/914-brakes.html

Here are the early 911S aluminum front calipers for my Six:
Click to view attachment
Cairo94507
Here are the Six GT rear calipers:

Click to view attachment

Truth be told, Eric's brakes are the reason I had to have my entire car restored. I took one look at his brakes and could not bring myself to install them on my original, unrestored, dirty, rusty, Six. So really, I blame Eric lol-2.gif It is indeed a very slippery slope.
era vulgaris
agree.gif If you need brakes for your 914, PMB Performance is the only place I'd get parts from.

What did the shop say was the problem with the brakes?

Brakes are also really not a difficult job to do on your own. Do them the first time with a friend who knows what he's doing, and after that it's no problem. You'll wonder why you ever paid a shop to touch your car.
Tom_T
I agree - contact Eric & he can tell you the cost for any parts needed, whether the shop sounds like they know what they're doing, & whether their install price is reasonable.

Brake rotors may be able to be turned if within tolerances, or replaced if not, calipers may need rebuilt & don't waste your time with Cardone or any other crappy rebuilts, ditto for the Master Cylinder if bad (ATE still available new), & soft lines (rubber)