Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 6 conversion carb help
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
BobMC914
There is a TL;DR version if you want to skip to it.

I'm new to 914world, I think. I was on a few sites back when I first got my 914. I was on Rennlist after it was no longer porschephiles, but when it was still a listserv through the move onto the web. my old page Rennlist page but I've lost the account info and haven't had that email address in years. Several moves and marriages resulted in a lot of non-driving time for the poor little car.

Anyway, that's in the past. In the present I have some carb issues I am asking for help on. Carbs are Weber 40IDA3C. I've been chasing idle problems for a while. I installed a Pertronix Ignitor and their coil, new plugs and the card would idle. Yay, problem solved, for a while. Then the car sat a lot for another year, I got a new job in a place with warmer weather (Houston) moved there, and now am trying to drive it around a bit more. driving.gif Now sometimes it would idle, but mostly it idles for a bit under a minute, then slows down and dies. Runs poorly at low/mid throttle and RPM, runs well with more throttle and RPM. I pulled out and cleaned the idle jets and the idle mix screws. I sprayed it all out with carb cleaner, then pulled it out of the garage and with the air cleaners off, I could hear and then see that fuel was running into the carb throats, filling up the venturis above the butterflies. I pulled the top off the carb and started troubleshooting. I found that one float doesn't float. It is partially filled with fluid. And there was a bunch of crud in the bottom of the float bowls. A lot of it in the bad float's bowl was green, so I kind of know what happened there. So I need a new float. Who does the forum recommend for carb parts?

TL;DR start here
40IDA3C