Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: CRAP!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mblizzard
WTF.gif

Had a new windshield installed a year ago. Went out for a drive today and noticed a huge crack starting from the base of the windshield.

No impact or stone chip present. When they installed the windshield they commented on the time it took for the resin to harden. I ask why they were using that as this car uses an old style butyl rubber seal. They said all cars now use the modern materials. That is looking like a lot of BS now.

Well let's see if they honor their warranty?

Anyone else seen this happen?

Click to view attachment
BeatNavy
That sucks, Mike sad.gif . Many people here say you can't use the resin because the car flexes too much. I hope that's not necessarily the case - I've been running for about 18 months with the same setup you have. Knock on wood, but I haven't had any issues yet.
Dion
Sorry that happened to you.
Was it an "OEM" glass? I ask because I was
investigating glass installers and suppliers in my area and
one with a very good reputation will not install
any glass in any model of Porsche that was not one of
their suppliers (OEM) because of just that.
He has been in business for 35 years.
He's not sure what aftermarket companies are doing but they
just do not "fit" properly. He insists on anyone coming in to bring
OEM or he will order it for you.
I hope they stand behind the warranty.
Good luck.
Mblizzard
QUOTE(Dion @ Aug 22 2015, 02:49 PM) *

Sorry that happened to you.
Was it an "OEM" glass? I ask because I was
investigating glass installers and suppliers in my area and
one with a very good reputation will not install
any glass in any model of Porsche that was not one of
their suppliers (OEM) because of just that.
He has been in business for 35 years.
He's not sure what aftermarket companies are doing but they
just do not "fit" properly. He insists on anyone coming in to bring
OEM or he will order it for you.