Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Clutch Cable Question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
chandler1969
Let me start with, I am by no means a mechanic but I figure I need to learn how to do certain things with this car. That includes changing the clutch cable. I just got the car back from the body shop where all the rust was replaced with new metal and the car painted:

Click to view attachment

One thing I noticed was how difficult it was to put it in 1st and reverse. Time to replace the clutch cable. I've ordered what I believe are the normal parts to do the work. Cable, clevis, clevis pin and fork. While I'm waiting for the parts I wanted to go ahead and pull old cable out. Here is what I found:

Click to view attachment
Notice where the clutch cable was hitting the accelerator cable attachment.

This is what was holding the clutch cable in (No clevis pin):
Click to view attachment

So now for my problem. I have no idea how the clutch attaches to the pedal assembly. Does anybody have any pics of the proper way to attach it?

Thanks in advance.

euro911
That's not the correct clutch cable clevis. That's a cheesy PO repair.

Here's the parts you need:

Clevis 900.166.002.02

Clevis pin 999.166.001.02

Maybe you just need to adjust the cable tension ... it does need to be adjusted periodically.

If you don't already have a repair manual, let me suggest you get one. I'm sure you can find the process outlined on the Pelican forum - tech articles too.

The adjustment is accomplished under the car, at the release bearing (also called throw-out or TO) lever that's sticking out of the transaxle's bell-housing.

The cable has two nuts after it passes through the trunnion block that pulls on the TO bearing lever. You need two 11mm wrenches and Vice-Grips to do the job.