Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Jacking the rear up
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
BeemerSteve
Hello,

I'm going to do some service under my 914 and was wondering the safest possible place to jack the car up in the center so I can put jack stands on the corners.

I'm still learning again after thirty years away from the model. Thanks!!

Steve
EdwardBlume
I jack mine up using the donuts and place 8x8s under the tires.
EdwardBlume
I've also jacked under the front engine mounts but not for very long.
stugray
I jack under the donuts and put jackstands under the rear trailing arms.

Otherwise you can put boards from front-back in a small channel along the "longs" and support under that.
I have put jackstands directly under the donuts with softeners, but unless you have some of those nice stand-top caps to keep the donut centered, it just never seemed stable enough.
I used old shoes...:0

Another tip I have used is that once you get the car way up on stands, you can put two wheels (with tires) stacked under the car "just in case".
r_towle
You can also jack up the trailing arm at the shock and put stands under the donuts.
Jeffs9146
This is how I do mine.
Mark Henry
I use a 2-post car lift biggrin.gif
I only lift from the donuts, I use hockey pucks so I don't scratch anything.
BeemerSteve
Thanks all! It's given me more food for thought.
BeemerSteve
QUOTE(Mark Henry @ Sep 8 2015, 05:42 PM) *

I use a 2-post car lift biggrin.gif
I only lift from the donuts, I use hockey pucks so I don't scratch anything.

I gave my 2-post up for my sanity after the divorce. biggrin.gif
GeorgeRud
Too old and lazy for jack stands anymore! Just align the arms with the four donuts in the corners.Click to view attachment
Bartlett 914
QUOTE(GeorgeRud @ Sep 8 2015, 08:08 PM) *

Too old and lazy for jack stands anymore! Just align the arms with the four donuts in the corners.Click to view attachment

Looks good George!
EdwardBlume