Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New 914 Owner!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
newmexico
Hi all. I was introduced to the world of 914's by my lovely girlfriend (soon to be fiance, but sshh). Her first car was 76 914. She sold it about 10 years ago and has been kicking herself since.

I came across a Craigslist ad for a '72 and the body looked to be in pretty good condition and the price wasn't bad (seemingly), so I talked her into letting me pick it up.

It's actually on its way to being towed to me now (it lived an hour and a half away). The owner said it's been sitting for at least a year when the starter went out.

I'm new to these cars completely, having grown up an old Chevy small-block guy, so I've already been reading through a ton of old and current threads on here to try to get up to speed.

I look forward to the journey! Thanks for the resources you've all provided through your forum posts.

Porschef
welcome.png

As been said here many times by others more savvy than I, this here place is probably your best resource. If you start, you'll be drawn in to learning as much about these cars as you'd care to know. Start with your basic rust/structural assessment, update the important things (you'll read about those) and get it running safely.

Add gas and enjoy! smile.gif
Spoke
welcome.png

As you make a list of things to work on, put "get rid of the single center carb"

beerchug.gif
stevegm
QUOTE(Spoke @ Sep 14 2015, 01:01 PM) *

welcome.png

As you make a list of things to work on, put "get rid of the single center carb"

beerchug.gif

I agree. You'll enjoy the car a lot more without that carb. You should be able to find just about whatever you need on 914world. And if you can't, just ask. Everyone here is pretty easy going and happy to help. Welcome to the world.
JoeDees
I debated driving the 4 hours to El Paso to look at this car. I hope it's good enough to make me regret not going.
Vysoc