Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT:When You Sell a Car/Vehicle
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Bruce Allert
I've sold a car now and then, maybe 1 a year and I was told that I should report it as income. I figure I initially paid for the car and actually lost money due to depreciation so I feel I shouldn't need to report it.

What'cha all think or know???

thanks.........b beerchug.gif
Allan
I've sold a few cars over the years but never reported it to anyone other than the DMV. Never even thought about it. confused24.gif
fiid
I would think if you declared the sale money as income you would also be entitled to deduct the basis price, and any work you had done on it. I don't know how you would account for any useage you had out of it :shrug:

I don't think you need to unless you are calling it a business, which may have other implications (some good some bad).

fiid
BTW - YMMV - see a professional for real advice. I am not an expert and any decision you make is your own responsibility.
Lou W
Never heard of anybody ever doing that, if you had to do that , then if you loose money, then do you write off the loss?
Porsche Rescue
I believe if you make a profit after costs it is technically income and as such reportable. I also believe that only dealers in the business actually report.
Gint
Fuch no!

If you were to report it, I'm sure the IRS would gladly accept your tax money. But I don't know anyone who has ever reported it. Including me.
carambola
isn't the state getting it's payola due to sales tax paid on a change of title.
neo914-6
This was years ago but a Honda/Acura mechanics shop where I took my old Honda used to buy theft recoveries, restore them, and sell them. He told me if you did ~12 a year showing your intent is business, then you would have to report it. He kept it "under" 12. laugh.gif Check your local accountant to be sure!
Joe Bob