Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Wiring woes
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
EK914
Need help. At my wits end. I'm in the process of restoring my wife's 914 that has been in storage for 20 years. My background is American muscle so all of this is foreign to me. Was having trouble getting lights to go up and down and come on. Got it fixed but now windshield wipers nor radio will work unless head lights are on. Has something to do with #8 fuse. I've replaced the horn and heater relay. Does anyone have some suggestions? Thanks, DB

SirAndy
QUOTE(EK914 @ Oct 11 2015, 01:32 PM) *

Need help. At my wits end. I'm in the process of restoring my wife's 914 that has been in storage for 20 years. My background is American muscle so all of this is foreign to me. Was having trouble getting lights to go up and down and come on. Got it fixed but now windshield wipers nor radio will work unless head lights are on. Has something to do with #8 fuse. I've replaced the horn and heater relay. Does anyone have some suggestions? Thanks, DB

Do you have a color wiring diagram? What year is the car?
idea.gif

PS: welcome.png
EK914
QUOTE(SirAndy @ Oct 11 2015, 04:39 PM) *

idea.gif

Yes I have a wiring diagram from Prospero's garage. The diagram does not have a radio circuit on it though. It's a 1975.

white1975
QUOTE(EK914 @ Oct 11 2015, 01:43 PM) *

idea.gif

Yes I have a wiring diagram from Prospero's garage. The diagram does not have a radio circuit on it though. It's a 1975.

sounds like they tied the radio into the wrong circuit
I would have to go out and look at mine and remember how mine was wired
also a 1975 I have not looked under the lid of mine for 30 plus years
so I would have to kick my brain a little
white1975
QUOTE(white1975 @ Oct 11 2015, 02:20 PM) *

QUOTE(EK914 @ Oct 11 2015, 01:43 PM) *

idea.gif

sounds like they tied the radio into the wrong circuit
I am in milford ohio now