Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shifting Into 1st Gear While Stopped
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
xperu
My car shifts very good through the gears except I must shift into 1st gear before coming to a complete stop at a red light. If I don't put it in 1st before coming to a complete stop; it is extremely difficult to get it in 1st gear. I will just start out it in 2nd which slid in very easily.
Is there an adjustment I can make or maybe something else.
I have been driving in this condition for several years, but I'm afraid something is wrong and I will have a problem later.
Thanks for your help and suggestions. Mike
brant
1st / reverse slider is shot.
An expensive part
rgolia
Have you tried first putting it in second and then first. I have done this since the car was new. It makes it much easier to get in first gear at a stop.
Bruce Hinds
agree.gif It's common on older trannies, selecting another gear before first slows things down inside and allows selecting first much easier. I usually use 3rd, but I don't think it matters.
dflesburg
sometimes the cone screw on the linkage falls out and the rod rotates.

so there are adjustments there.

There is a bushing in the rear that can fall out, so look there,

Sometimes the clutch cable can stretch, nice ones can be purchased now days, I have one.

Sometimes the nuts on said clutch cable need tightened a bit.

All of these things and more can make a difference.

These are the things I can think of off the top of my head.
Porschef
Mine is similar but occurs intermittently, sometimes sliding into first easily, other times I to select a higher gear (usually 3rd), and other times have to just let the clutch up a hair. Only bushing that has any real play is the one in the tranny console, I plan on turning a delrin bushing for that in hopes that it cures the issue.

I know the slider is good, had the tranny worked over by Doc. beer.gif

If that doesn't work I may have to go for Chris' upgrade.