Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Pinewood Derby Season
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
iwanta914-6
I know it's not a 914 but one of my girls (I have twin 7 year old girls in girl scouts) wanted a "Sally" from Cars.

So obviously I was excited to get started on that as Sally is based off of a 996, so to CAD I went. This is only the second year I've "helped" my girls with their cars so this is my first attempt at adding flares to a pinewood car. Should be fun. Next year they will do most of the work and I'll just help make it fast but this year I'll handle most of the construction while they do the paint. The other car is going to be a puppy.

I had to modify it a little to fit the size limits and the minimum wheelbase being 4" pushed the rear wheels back a little.

Click to view attachment
Mueller
Looks good....I hope you leave off the tramp stamp Sally has smile.gif

Going to hand carve or throw that on a CNC mill/router?
iwanta914-6
QUOTE(Mueller @ Dec 10 2015, 09:40 AM) *

Looks good....I hope you leave off the tramp stamp Sally has smile.gif

Going to hand carve or throw that on a CNC mill/router?

Ha, the tramp stamp, that would be hilarious! I will be hand carving and lots of dremel work. It probably won't turn out nearly as nice as the drawing, but at least I have a plan...
jasons
We are building a car too. Last year we won the Beauty contest for his den, which I wasn't trying to do. And we should have won the whole shebang, which I was trying to do. Somehow one of my canted rear axles got turned and veered the car hard so we lost one race before I identified the problem.
iwanta914-6
Last year the two cars I made with my girls (I had never made one before) did quite well. In the girl scout division one car finished 2nd, losing to the overall champion. The other car finished just off the podium for the girl scouts.