Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Painting Fuchs - good prep steps?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
GaroldShaffer
One of my AX fuchs is bent and I have a good stright one to replace it. My AX rims are black with "windmill" pattern & outer lip silver. They are not pretty but work for me. So I want to paint my "new" fuch rim to match the others. What prep should I do and what type of piant should I use? My plain is to clean the rim, mask off the "windmill" & outter lip edge the spray away with a flat black to match the other rims. Is that enough or is there more prep that needs to be done?
GaroldShaffer
icon_bump.gif

Tap tap tap....... Is this thing on........

Anyone................ confused24.gif
Joe Bob
Blue masking tape and a rattle can.....take your time...
CptTripps
Seeing that they are magnesium, I'd use an etching primer first. For flat-black, I always use the 'high heat grill' paint you can get at Lowes.

I'm no expert at 'real' paint jobs, but I AM a rattle-can wizard!
RangerRhett
I say don't paint them! Your car looks great as it is!

my $0.02
GaroldShaffer
QUOTE (RangerRhett @ Mar 14 2005, 08:04 PM)
I say don't paint them! Your car looks great as it is!

my $0.02

I'm painting my Extra rims I use for AXing. biggrin.gif driving.gif
IronHillRestorations
My .02 is never paint four cyl Fuchs. They aren't five lug Fuchs, and never look like it when the insets are painted black. Mega poser look to me, but that's just my opinion, I could be wrong. It's your car do what you want.

Think of all the weight you'll save if you don't paint em biggrin.gif

BTW Doug, Fuchs are aluminum.
GaroldShaffer
QUOTE (9146986 @ Mar 15 2005, 06:45 AM)
My .02 is never paint four cyl Fuchs. They aren't five lug Fuchs, and never look like it when the insets are painted black. Mega poser look to me, but that's just my opinion, I could be wrong. It's your car do what you want.

Think of all the weight you'll save if you don't paint em biggrin.gif