Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Can someone identify this tire
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rick 918-S
I can read that it's a Yokohama. Just can't make out the Model AVS?
sb914
Nada pic !
rick 918-S
Crap! I missed the attachment. dry.gif
r_towle
Invisy tire
rick 918-S
I am not home now. I had a photo on my computer but here's a link to a 6 for sale in Spain with the tires

http://www.mmclasicos.com/spa/item/ART01922.html
Vysoc
Correct, those are Yokohama AVS, when I bought my 75, they had those tires on them same tread pattern. I do not think they have made that pattern for a while. I trashed the ones that were mounted on my enkei's and upgraded as they were old and in the way.

Vysoc flag.gif
Steve
I ran AVS back in the day. They were supposed to be better in the rain than the A008's. I didn't like them, but can't remember why. I have been running Michelin Pilot sports for the last 15 years. Pretty happy with them for a street car.
sixnotfour
Yokohama A509
jmill
They are the AVS Intermediate. NLA.

I loved the A008. Best tire out there at the time but it did suck in the rain due to the outside 1/4 being mostly a slick.
jmill
Closest thing to the A008 I've seen is the P Zero Trofeo. I wasn't real happy with Pirelli's compound last time I ran the P Zero. Hopefully they've made it a bit stickier since then. Wouldn't want to get caught in the rain with them either way. Still a sweet looking tire at a decent price.

RARE 6
As stated, Yokohama AVS A509s. Still have a set of 206x60x14s mounted on the 14" Fuchs on my -6. Tires purchased circa 1997.
jmill
QUOTE(RARE 6 @ Dec 20 2015, 12:50 PM) *

As stated, Yokohama AVS A509s. Still have a set of 206x60x14s mounted on the 14" Fuchs on my -6. Tires purchased circa 1997.

Do your tires have the divots? Last time I looked the AVS 509 and Intermediate had the same tread pattern but the Intermediate had a stickier compound and the divots.
jmill
A509 = No Divots