Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Pedrini Wheels
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Samoroso72
Guys,
I need some help. I am fairly new to the world of 914s.
I purchased a set of Pedrini at a very low price and put them in storage while I was working on my car. I recently noticed I have two different types. No laughing please.
I have an early 72 1.7. Can you tell me which rim pictured below is the correct rim for my car.

Click to view attachment
Samoroso72
Or this one.Click to view attachment Click to view attachment
914Mike
Should be a part number on the back. 00 is early, 01 is late.
Late ones have a recess for the late style front hub with the centering ring.
Top one is the early style, IIRC.

I'm in almost the same boat, early version fit my '71, until it became 5-lug. Now the Pedrini's won't fit the front of my '74, nor my '69 Ghia because of the centering rings.
Tom_T
Look at the cast date numbers on the back of each & pick the one type closest to 72 MY & your car's production month/yr on the VIN, & also verify that all 4 are 914-xxxx part nos. back there too.

If the back has an inset cast or cut into them, then they were the later xxxx-01 part no. for 73 MY 914s with the then new hub-centric hubs up front.

Being an early production 72, they would've used 71 production of the wheels up to Dec 71 & maybe even into early 72.

Either way you have a couple of partial or 1/2 sets, & you'll need to sell 1-2 & source 2 of the correct casting style & numbers, if you want them correct for your car &/or are a CW c orrectness type.

If you're not picky & it's for a DD, then you could put a matching pair on each side, & few people would notice the difference.

Good Luck! beerchug.gif
Tom
///////
cwpeden
This should answer your question: http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=234404

Samoroso72