Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Restoration Begins
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
The Engineer
For starters, I'll introduce myself, I am an engineering student in Atlanta. I don't have a lot of experience with restoring cars, but I'm learning as i go. My degree will be in Mechatronics Engineering, which really just means I like to play with robots. Enough about me, and now onto the car.

She's a 1970 914 4, and she's in pretty rough shape. Floor plans rusted out, rust in the hell hole, and miscellaneous minor rust throughout the rest of the car. The interior of the car is pretty much non existent. The good news is that it was running a few months ago, according to the PO who I wouldn't of believed if he hadn't shown me a video of it running, however it no longer starts. I bought it for $900, which I don't think was a bad price, although the more i dig into it the more rust I find. Oh, and one of the PO's decided it was a good idea to do a carb conversion. These are all the pictures I have at the moment, I'll get some better ones sometime later this week. Click to view attachment Click to view attachmentClick to view attachmentClick to view attachment[attachmentid=536
413]
TheCabinetmaker
Ton of work there. Good luck, and welcome.
stevegm
welcome.png
Cairo94507
welcome.png No problem.
Coondog
Congrats, have fun with your new toy !!!
iwanta914-6
welcome.png

You have a long road ahead, enjoy it!
veekry9
Fortitude,stamina and resolute determination are the requisite characteristics.
May I direct you to a similar effort.
http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...c=16748&hl=

http://www.restoration-design.com/store/category/914#P345
This is a huge project,the panels and ribs are big timesavers and not easily replicated.
The tub is very weak and must be strutted to ensure the geometry while under repair.
Let the journey begin. biggrin.gif
welcome.png
mark04usa
welcome.png Great to see another '70 model will be saved!
BeemerSteve